Monday, January 19, 2009

Ok..

Alright, so I said that I would post my workout plan yesterday. Well, I didn't. So there! :)

I was gonna work out this morning, but after FINALLY falling asleep around 1:30, there was no way that I could drag myself out of bed at 5:45, work out, and go through a full 9-hr day. NO WAY! So, I basically told myself If you choose not to work out in the morning, well you're getting your ass to the gym after work. Get over it. You're gonna do it.

Anyway...here's the plan:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday
  1. 10 minute warm-up on bike (which I found out that I can do about 2.5 miles in 10 minutes)
  2. Chest Press (40 lbs, 15 reps)
  3. Weight Squats (140 lbs, 10 reps feet apart, 10 together)
  4. Seated Row (70 lbs, 15 reps)
  5. Repeat 2-4 three times
  6. 15 minutes on Elliptical
  7. Lunges (20 lbs, 10 reps each leg)
  8. Standing Shoulder Press (35 lbs, 10 reps)
  9. 15 minutes on treadmill
    • 3% incline at 2.5 mph for 3 minutes
    • 10% incline at 2.5 mph for 2 minutes
    • 3% incline at 5.0 mph for 2 minutes (This kills me..I'm so not a runner yet!!)
    • 10% incline at 2.5 mph for 1 minute
    • 5% incline at 3.0 for 1 minute
    • 1.5% incline at 2.o mph for 2 minutes
Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday

30 minutes of cardio (I love this because I can switch it up so I don't get bored!)

I get one day off a week...I am ok with that.


I need to set a goal, so that I can achieve the goal!! I'd like to say that I'd like to be at 200 lbs by summertime, but I'm just not sure about that. That's approximately 40 lbs to be lost.


On the work tip...

I've got some big things coming up over the next few weeks that will ultimately leave me stressed to the core. So, the biggest short-term goal I'm setting for myself is to NOT give in to my stress weakness: JUNK FOOD. My boss is doing a "Survivor-like" challenge with her gym, so she's not a bad influence. My other officemate is thinking about getting back on Weight Watchers/Nutrasystem, so she shouldn't' be a problem.

I just have to get motivated and focused!!

I'll be in the Chicago area next week for business. I'll be doing three full days of payroll training with the full weekend in Chicago as well. Yay for my career growth, possibly NAY for my workout plan. So, I hope my hotel will have a nice gym for me to work out at. I'll be there Wed. night through Mon night. Oh yeah..get this....My boss has decided that we are flying....yeah, flying from Indy to O'Hare. Pshh..whatever. I don't to have drive to Chicago, I get to fly, and get a rental car with NO cost to me. I guess I'll take it!! LOL

So, I figure I'll work out with my trainer Wed morning, make my boss (oh yeah, she's gonna be there for 2 of the 3 weekdays) work out with me on Thurs and Fri morning, and then get in a quick work out on Saturday and Monday. I really cannot let myself slip because I know I'll be taking in the wonderful Chicago cuisine and possibly drinks with my best friend (who lives..oh..about 20 minutes from the hotel I'll be staying at).

I'm excited to be going so that I can spend some time with my family and best friends!!!!!

Sunday, January 18, 2009

New Plan..

So, I'm writing this before I head to the gym...

Last week, my trainer and I put together a "Biggest Loser" workout plan.

So, when I get back from the gym, I'm going to type up the plan that way I can make sure I don't forget what the plan is.


THEN...I'll need to work on the nutrition aspect of the lifestyle!!

Thursday, January 8, 2009

OK..so I've been put on blast...

Ok, so I get the hint...I need to post.

Thanks Jaimie!! :)

I haven't posted since the beginning of the new year. I had thought about making a resolution, but dismissed that idea on the basis that it never lasts.

So, this year, I have decided that I am going to do what I can and not criticize myself for "falling off the wagon." If I have a bad day, so what. Tomorrow is a new day. There is no excuse for me to say 'Oh I ate like crap today, so I'll start fresh Monday.' That never works!

So, I've been bringing my lunch to work every day. I have made a variety of different lunches. From garlic butter fish filets (100 cal, 2.5 grams of fat) that stink up the HR area to mixing some wheat pasta with chicken, I've enjoyed making my lunches. Of course, I didn't bring my lunch yesterday, so I had a tough decision to make. See, when I was at Pfizer, I was used to having to bring my lunch because no restaurants were close enough. I was VERY proud of myself yesterday. I had the bourbon chicken from Quiznos (small, on wheat) and a small side salad with vinaigrette dressing, which I believe totaled to 450 calories, which is decent considering I had a 100-calorie yogurt and a EAS shake for breakfast.

I am trying so hard to get out of the pop funk. I mean, I was very proud of myself that I was able to kick the leaded pop and drink only diet. Of course, now I hear that the sugar in diet actually causes a person to crave sweets, which would deter from the weight loss.

I think I need to find a nutritionist or something. I have a pretty good idea of what kind of workout I should be doing. It's the food that I just can't get straight. I've been considering trying Nutrasystem, just to get myself in the right frame of mind as far as portions go. However, I am not in love with the idea of processed food or food high in sodium. So, really, I can't win.

My workouts are going really well. I love it. I am really learning how to challenge and push myself while I'm there. If I'm only able to get in a 30-minute workout, I step it up on the elyptical or on the treadmill. It's amazing the calories you can burn at 4.0 mph at a 15-20% incline.

I got these from my trainer for Christmas....Who knew there were pink boxing gloves?

Kyle also got me this for Christmas and I am REALLY excited to try it out..


I think that my co-workers in the HR Department need to learn how to be a better influence on each other. Our microwave sucks, so I can't exactly bring my veggies to steam. We're working on that, though.